The Ironman 70.3 in East London gave Skechers Performance a great start to their year. Not only was their stand at the expo a hub of activity, and their presence visible everywhere as the official footwear and apparel partner, but several of their sponsored athletes outperformed most in their age groups.

Skechers was able to showcase their new performance range to visitors to their stand and their sponsored South African athletes occupied the podium – for example, Travis Johnston (32) won and Bryan Difford (31) came second in the 30-34 age group.

Skechers-stand

“What a fantastic weekend of racing, the Ironman 70.3 East London is one of the most iconic races and each year it just seems to deliver a better racing experience,” said Johnston. “From the time I arrived, to the time I left, it was filled with some great memories, lots of laughs, a little pain from racing and then plenty celebrations after.”

His main goal in East London was to get onto the top step of the podium and qualify for the Ironman World Championships that this year takes place in Port Elizabeth on September 1 and 2. “Having been able to achieve that, I’m honestly over the moon,” adds Johnston.

Skechers-stand-people

“I have been wearing Skechers shoes now for just under a year and I am hitting some of the best running splits I have ever done,” he continued. “I have had no injuries and just absolutely love the experience the shoes provide. I have been running all my life at a very high level and I can honestly say these are the best shoes I have ever run in, no question about it. I’d like to thank Skechers for their continued support.”

The next Ironman event is the African Championship in Nelson Mandela Bay on April 15th.