This year’s Eurobike Awards received around 400 entries, of which 43 received awards. Of these there were nine Gold Awards and five Start-Up Awards (one of which received a Gold Award as well).

“There are many awards, but only very few in which the innovations for cycling are assessed by a really independent panel of judges”, says Eurobike Show Director Dirk Heidrich. “Consequently, as an accolade from the leading trade fair within the industry, the Eurobike Award is one of the most important genuine yardsticks for innovation and design in the bike world – from the manufacturers, via retailers, to the end users.”

Several of the Gold Awards winners were in the Bike Components category:


The AirWinder self-inflating bicycle tire has a peristaltic pumping system that uses mechanical energy from riding to push air into the tire. Because the system is incorporated in the thread, the tire is compatible with existing rims. The system also allows the user to regulate the tire pressure.


FOX’s Live Valve is electronically controlled and the controller can automatically switch the fork and shock independently as the terrain changes with the use of ultra-fast reacting sensors. The three sensors measure the terrain 1 000 times per second and the system has a reaction time of 3 milliseconds. Its batter life lasts for a minimum of 20 hours’ riding.


SRAM’s Eagle AXS wireless bike parts can be personalised and controlled via its AXS app and the wireless RockShox Reverb AXS dropper-post features a touch-controller that remotes the seatpost without any delay. The jury was especially impressed by how much easier it makes fitting components.

For a full list of winners visit Eurobike’s website.

Eurobike Awards winners were displayed during this year’s Eurobike trade show, which took place 4-6 September. More than 1 400 exhibitors were at the show displaying their latest products and developments to the trade.